News Line

Communications > News Line > Posts > 12 New Inductees into Alabama 4-H Wall of Fame To Be Honored May 13 in Columbiana


A ceremony and reception honoring 12 new inductees into the Alabama 4-H Wall of Fame are set for May 13 at the Alabama 4-H Youth Development Center in Columbiana. A reception for the honorees will begin at 2 p.m. in the William R. Ireland Sr. Lobby of the W. Gaines Smith Environmental Science Education Building. The induction ceremony will begin at 3 p.m. in the Alabama Power Foundation Auditorium in the same building. The 2014 inductees join 162 others in the 4-H Wall of Fame, which was established in 2008.

The 4-H Wall of Fame honors individuals and organizations who have made a significant impact on the 4-H and Youth Development program, its members and leaders. The 4-H Club Foundation, Inc. and Alabama 4-H honors, remembers and pays tribute to those who have influenced the lives of Alabama youth by their commitment "To Make the Best Better." Anyone who has made a significant contribution to the development of the 4-H program or 4-H'ers in Alabama is eligible. All inductees are selected through a nomination process.


The 2014 inductees include:



  • L.O. Bishop, a 4-H alumnus and Colbert County 4-H partner
  • Mike Childers, a 4-ah alumnus and Morgan County 4-H resource volunteer
  • Albert "Mann" Miller, a Mobile County 4-H volunteer
  • Dr. John Mims, a 4-H alumnus and 4-H community leader
  • Dennis Peterson, a retired Baldwin County Extension agent (deceased)
  • Inez Petty, a retired Lawrence County Extension coordinator (deceased)
  • William L. (W.L.) Royston, a former Tallapoosa County Extension agent (deceased)
  • C.E. "Ed" Teague, an Alabama 4-H partner
  • Cynthia Tubbs, a Cullman County 4-H Junior Master Gardener volunteer
  • Ed Tunnell, a retired Baldwin County Extension agent
  • Robert Williams, a Mobile County 4-H volunteer
  • Bess Fleming Wright, former State 4-H Leader for Girls


There are no comments for this post.