4-H Blog

Alabama 4-H > 4-H Blog > Posts > Pickens County Forestry Judging Teams Wins State


Pickens County 4-H'ers won the 2013 State 4-H Forestry Judging Contest held recently at the Alabama 4-H Center in Columbiana, Alabama. Team members include: Anna Leigh Ashmore, Jessica Junkin, Seth Junkin, Clint Moss & Coach Sam Wiggins.

The team will represent Alabama at the national competition in July in Weston, West Virginia, where Alabama 4-H teams have won 17 national competitions since 1984, including 12 times in the last 16 years.

The 2013 State 4-H Forestry Judging Junior winning team was Lee County.

The state Forestry Invitational is the culmination of months of work by county 4-H programs, which form teams and practice and study with adult volunteer leaders for the state competition.

“Young people learn to evaluate forest stands, measure standing timber, identify trees, identify insects and diseases and demonstrate compass and pacing skills,” said David Perry, 4-H regional Extension agent, one of two program coordinators of the state 4-H Forestry Invitational. “It’s a challenging competition but one that is fun for youth to participate in.”

“Youth sharpen their critical-thinking, decision-making, communication and team building skills,” says Cynthia Knowlton, 4-H regional Extension agent who coordinates the Invitational with Perry. “The contest’s activities will help youth learn practical forestry skills and improve their ability to manage and conserve a variety of forest habitats. They also develop their citizenship and leadership skills.”

# # #

2013 State 4-H Forestry Invitational Winners

Senior Team:

Pickens County – 1st

Tallapoosa County – 2nd

Lee County – 3rd

Clay County – 4th


Senior Individual:

Seth Rankins – 1st Lee Co.

Clint Moss – 2nd      Pickens Co.

Seth Junkins – 3rd Pickens Co.

Jessica Junkins- 4th Pickens Co.

Tyler Tapley – 5th Tallapoosa Co.


Junior Team:

Lee County – 1st

Clay County – 2nd

Pickens County – 3rd


Junior Individual:

Gavin Rankins – 1st Lee Co.

Ethan Rankins – 2nd Lee Co.

Rice Nichols – 3rd Lee Co.

Mary Liphan – 4th Clay Co.

Ethan Koon – 5th Pickens Co.


There are no comments for this post.